Trying NOT to Shop

I haven’t exactly kept my pledge to not shop until the honeymoon, but it’s killing me that I can’t do more! Especially since it’s that time of the season change when I realize that I purged at the end of the last season (that is, last summer), and I have lots of great pieces, but few outfits. I know this is not something everyone understands, but it’s really frustrating! We’ve had a few warm enough days and I’ve reached for things that are just … not there. Apparently all of my summer shoes died last year, and I’ve never had a selection of pants I love, and some of those tops are just *old* and showing their age.

Well, I do have a lot of stuff...

Well, I do have a lot of stuff…

In my ever-present desire to wear bike-friendly office clothes (or is it office-friendly bike clothes?), I do have a list of things from designers who are catering to my whim. Hey, gotta support the people who are making it big, since I don’t have time at the moment to make it myself!

I’ve wanted the Iva Jean “Reveal” skirt for ages, even if it is only in black and I dislike wearing black. I’d sacrifice just to wear a designer’s bike fashion piece! It’s a great office-friendly pencil skirt, in a great length.

Iva Jean Reveal Skirt, image from her website

Iva Jean Reveal Skirt, image from her website

There is a new bike skirt on the market now that I also like, by Iladora. It’s gray (huzzah! I love gray), and a bit shorter, and slightly more casual-looking. I like the “shirttail” hem idea, although I’m not sure how short that would end up feeling. My bike, of course, has a men’s style top tube, which makes skirts that much trickier, but I’m sure I could work around this! I also love the top, and the shoes on the model! Perfect date night outfit.

Iladora skirt and top, image taken from her website

Iladora skirt and top, image taken from her website

Betabrand also has a new crowdfunded skirt, modeled by the famous Bike Pretty blogger, Melissa. It boasts clever zipper details as well, but in the front, not in the back as the Iva Jean skirt is. Not surprisingly, my favorite part is the reflective pocket triangle that can be pulled out when you want a touch of reflectivity.

Betabrand Bike to Work Skirt, modeled by Bike Pretty's Melissa. Image from Betabrand website.

Betabrand Bike to Work Skirt, modeled by Bike Pretty’s Melissa. Image from Betabrand website.

The reflective pocket on the Betabrand Bike to Work Skirt makes me so happy! Image from Betabrand website.

The reflective pocket on the Betabrand Bike to Work Skirt makes me so happy! Image from Betabrand website.

But wait, there’s more! Check out this cute dress I discovered recently – a striped dress by Quick Study. Adorable! I mean, I love stripes, and this is my favorite gray, and the bodice is lined in quick-dry material. Brilliant!  I also love the clever piecing on the back. This one I would totally wear to work, in several seasons. Add tights and boots, and it’s perfect for fall and winter. Sandals and bangles great for cool spring evenings. J’adore.

How adorable is the illustration of this Quick Study dress?! Image from her website

How adorable is the illustration of this Quick Study dress?! Image from her website

Love the way the stripes are pieced in the back of this dress. Image from Quick Study website.

Love the way the stripes are pieced in the back of this dress. It just needs some reflective trim! Image from Quick Study website.

Paired with these amazingly adorable (and amazingly expensive) bike-friendly shoes from Tracey Neuls, I would find myself wearing a lot of gray, and I tend to lean towards much brighter colors. It’s not very spring or summer-y, but these seem like good basics to always have on hand. Plus, I’d love to have all three skirts to compare the different design aspects, and well, those shoes would be *perfect* with that cute striped dress.

Just love them. That's all I can say. Image from her website.

Just love them. That’s all I can say. Image from her website.

If only I could register for office-friendly bike fashion – but I suppose the wedding registry should be things we both can use, right? Bummer!

 

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. great post!! it is so hard sometimes to overcome the urge to bankrupt yourself shopping… sigh ;)
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Outdoors Alliance for Kids

connecting children, youth and families with the outdoors

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Wortspiel

Die Schülerzeitung der Deutschen Sprachschule Washington, DC (GLC)

birdindustries

bike accessories for the urban chick

Vélo Joy Blog

find your cycle fashion

Cycle Write Blog

My words, visions & trivia along the way

Unique Schmuck

I used to be halfway between Ca Mau and Sai Gon, now I'm just espousing unique schmuck.

Keys to Change

You hold the keys to change. Discover how to use them.

Rambling Rider

Ramble on.

Shanker Blog

THE VOICE OF THE ALBERT SHANKER INSTITUTE

The Girl in the Blue Apron

On Food and Running

Car(e) Free Family

Shedding Our Exoskeleton to Move Freely About the Town

The DCyclist

A Blog of Cycling, What Not & Nonsense in the Washington, DC region

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 585 other followers

