British Blog, Wedding Bells, and Elly Blue

It’s hard to keep up with a blog when so much stuff is going on all at the same time! So many things I wanted to share, but don’t have time to create their own post, so I’m cramming three great things into one!

First, I am very pleased that one of my product reviews was published on The Discerning Cyclist! I had read an interview with founders Ste Johnson and Peter Reynolds in Momentum Magazine, which ended with a call for more people reviewing stylish bike fashion. So I sent a link to my website and offered my services. The end result is a custom review of the REI Novara Whittier Bike Dress! Be sure to check out the rest of their website. Their goal, as is mine, is stylish clothes you can bike in. (I just happen to like mine to have hidden reflectivity as well). I’m very excited to share this with you, and hope that it is, in the cliched words of Humphrey Bogart, the beginning of a beautiful friendship! And now I have an excuse to buy more stylish garments that just happen to be bike-friendly or bike-specific. Huzzah!

The Mechanic and I got married this past weekend. Yep, that was a pretty big deal! It was a four-day event, starting when we biked to Gerald Williams, one of the County suggested “civil celebrants” and a celebrity in his own right . We didn’t want a stranger conducting the actual wedding, so we opted to have a civil ceremony before the wedding. Initially we thought we’d make it casual and just bike there, but as it turns out, we had 6 other family members with us to capture it the entire way.

Our wedding took place at the Bavarian Inn, in Shepherdstown, WV, and couldn’t have been more perfect. The weather turned out to be perfect, the reception room looked perfect, the wedding cake was perfect, I loved my dress, and although I cried on and off the entire day, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I am now Mrs. The Mechanic.

And to round out a few weeks of fun, last night I got to chat briefly with Elly Blue, famous bike author of Taking the Lane, who was in Arlington for a Dinner and Bikes event. We didn’t chat very long, but since we’ve communicated via Twitter, I wanted to say hi; she was, after all, in my office. I’ve worked with many celebrities in my life (ask me about my Hugh Jackman story the next time you see me), but I feel like Elly is a real celebrity – she is out there making a difference for everyday people, getting them on bikes, and getting them to think about bikes in different ways. I wish I had time to read all the publications she had with her, but I’ll have to wait until I have more free time.

I’m really still basking in the afterglow of the wedding weekend, and now I’m beginning to pack for the honeymoon, so this could be the last blog post for a while. I will try to blog from Europe but I can’t promise anything. However, I can promise lots of bike-themed blog posts when I get back!  Elizabet3580347

3 responses to this post.

  1. Whoo hoo! Congratulations!

    Reply

  2. Congratulations! You both look so happy.

    Enjoy your trip and don’t worry about blogging – it’ll all be here when you get back. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Outdoors Alliance for Kids

connecting children, youth and families with the outdoors

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Wortspiel

Die Schülerzeitung der Deutschen Sprachschule Washington, DC (GLC)

birdindustries

bike accessories for the urban chick

Vélo Joy Blog

find your cycle fashion

Cycle Write Blog

My words, visions & trivia along the way

Unique Schmuck

I used to be halfway between Ca Mau and Sai Gon, now I'm just espousing unique schmuck.

Keys to Change

You hold the keys to change. Discover how to use them.

Rambling Rider

Ramble on.

Shanker Blog

THE VOICE OF THE ALBERT SHANKER INSTITUTE

The Girl in the Blue Apron

On Food and Running

Car(e) Free Family

Shedding Our Exoskeleton to Move Freely About the Town

The DCyclist

A Blog of Cycling, What Not & Nonsense in the Washington, DC region

Spoke Haven

all things bikes, all things Wisconsin

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

