Bicycle Bag

First and foremost, I’d like to brag a bit about my cool new pannier for Fauntleroy.  I stumbled upon it on The Bicycle Muse website (which has apparently closed, according to UK sister website London Cyclechic), and instantly loved it. The color I bought has sold out, but there are others – just not in colors that would go with Fauntleroy.  I preferred to keep in the tradition and style of the lacy basket, so I picked a black and white design.

Kitsch Kitchen Pannier

(Shown with reflective tassel, sold separately and discussed in a future blog)

It happened to arrive the day I was wearing my Jason Wu for Target cycle print dress! How perfect!

I love this bag because it simply clips onto the pannier, and is quite secure.  The Mechanic was concerned about it but ultimately concluded that since it was from a Dutch company, they must know what they are doing, so it would be fine. I’ve been  using it for over a week now and I haven’t worried about it falling off.  If anything, I still have to pry it off the rack when I reach my destination.  It’s made out of waterproof vinyl, although I’m hoping I’ll never get caught in a bad rainstorm!  A zipped inside pocket holds my keys and headphones, while the two outside pockets are great for smaller stuff I need quickly, like sunglasses and sunscreen.

I probably wouldn’t have been so eager to get it if I hadn’t seen a review of it by Lady Velo, and seen the great zip cover over the clips.  Also, because she holding the bag, I had a good idea of how big it would be – I need to fit work stuff, a lunch bag, change of clothes, gym stuff, you name it, it’s got to fit.  Okay, overflow goes into the front basket, which I naturally left in place.

I like this photo of Fauntleroy because it shows off his cool handlebars. (The new bag is stuffed full here, so it’s pulling the bike a bit off balance, hence the funky turn of the front wheel.)

The other cool thing about this bag is that the weight is distributed differently so I can actually carry the bike up the stairs without removing the bag.  This makes a huge difference, let me tell you!

Today would have been the perfect day to load up this new bag with some picnic gear and have dinner outdoors somewhere, but The Mechanic was dutifully studying, and I wouldn’t have disturbed him.  This glorious weather will hopefully last for a while so we can get in a few picnics!  This bag just screams for them.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

