Rental Car Date

Yesterday was a big day for The Mechanic – he sold Helga, his motorcycle.

Auf Wiedersehen Helga! (At last, I’ve gotten rid of the other woman!)

Now we are 100% bicycle-dependent for transportation. So we rented a car.

The rental car was actually to help The Mechanic get everything to the meeting point with the buyer, and then home again (since weekend public transportation to Woodbridge, VA is non-existant). But since we had it, we decided to go on a car date.

We braved the Beltway traffic and went to the IKEA in College Park, MD. Yay IKEA! I could spend hours in there, and in fact, we almost did. Although we were only on a fact-finding mission, I still ended up buying some stuff. It’s so hard not to! But I really needed a seat cushion for my desk chair, and then there was the Christmas stuff…. I know I won’t be back there until January, so I bought the two Christmas things I know I will need – Unicef holiday cards and an advent calendar. I still like to mail holiday cards, and I love my advent calendar tradition.

The main point of the rental car, however, was to celebrate the sale of the motorcycle by having dinner at Seasons 52.

Seasons 52 in Rockville, MD (although we eat at the one in Tyson’s Corner)

Seasons 52 is this great concept of a restaurant that focuses on seasonal foods AND every menu item is under 475 calories! It’s a health-conscious foodie’s delight!

Impossible, you say, how can this be an upscale restaurant with caloric limitations like that?! This completely gives power to the argument that good food doesn’t have to be fattening. Here’s what we had:

Chipotle Shrimp Flatbread for starters

Cedar Plank Roasted Salmon with potatoes, carrots and asparagus

Caramelized Sea Scallops with asparagus and pearl risotto

Our Mini Indulgences – pumpkin pie and rocky road. You can see how mini they are next to our wine glasses!

Yes, this is healthy eating! They even have steak on the menu, as well as several vegetarian choices. Both restaurants in Rockville and Tyson’s Corner were packed, with an hour wait time at each. We made reservations at the Tyson’s Corner location so we could kill time in the mall (in retrospect, maybe not a good idea, since I now have expensive chai tea from Teavana…). I’m not sure how many people eat there because of the healthy meal concept, but it’s certainly not scaring people away, either.

We needed to return the rental car afterwards, which felt somewhat like Cinderella’s coach being turned back into a pumpkin, but thankfully, the Metro and bus worked out perfectly so we didn’t have to wait too long to get home. And I was just as glad to be back on the Metro – traffic, parking lots, crazy stupid drivers, having to hunt down a gas station… These are all things I would not like to do on a daily basis. What a nightmare! I think driving makes me more tense than biking next to traffic. But it was fun to do a car date! Since we bike everywhere anyway, shaking things up a bit, and getting outside our bike-able zone, was an adventure. And I’m always up for an adventure!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

