50th Anniversary

Okay, this is really Post #52, but I am impressed that I’ve written 50 blog posts since February, and feel this is worth celebrating. And I want to thank those of you who read my blog, comment, and like. It’s greatly appreciated! This whole blogging thing is a whole new world, one I greatly enjoy.

I had originally thought that I would use this blog to discuss my love for all things transit related, mainly bikes, street cars, trains, and okay, even vintage cars. I had no idea I’d end up making reflective bicycle clothing! So I wonder where the next 50 blog posts will take me.

Some ideas and goals:

  • More biking – I am going to attempt to master winter cycling. I want to try biking in the snow. And I need to master clipless pedals. Plus there is a mountain bike in the works! And I’m itching to get out and do some last long rides before it is too cold. I’m sad that I’ve neglected my Sunday morning 30-mile rides.
  • More fashion – I need to finish the reflective skirt I’m working on now, then think about ideas for spring. It’s all about how to translate fashion trends into bike-friendly, reflective!, yet office-appropriate clothing. I don’t want to look like I’m wearing “bike clothes” even if I am.
  • More transit-related posts –  The more I get into the topic of walkable/bikable/”complete street” cities, the more I want to explore it on my own. I think the health aspect is just as important as the environmental ones, and might be the way to get more people on board with the idea of creating living areas that are safer for cyclists and pedestrians of all types (elderly, young, poor, disabled).

Actually, two of my three upcoming trips are transit-related.  Next week I will attend the Behavior, Energy, and Climate Change conference in Sacramento, CA. I am presenting on the work that Arlington Transportation Partners does, and I will be on a travel behavior change panel as well. I’m very much interested in behavior change, and can’t wait to see the other presenters and panel discussions while I’m there.

And conveniently, Sacramento is where I grew up and did my undergrad work, so I can see my parents, cruise the neighborhoods where I lived in college, check out the theater where I got my theatrical start, and reconnect with high school and theater friends I haven’t seen in way too long. It should be a really great week. It’s a shame The Mechanic can’t come with me, but at least we’ll have our trip to Copenhagen!

Superstorm Sandy and all the destruction in New York led to a boom in biking-as-transportation, HOV-only restrictions into Manhattan, and many conversations about transit infrastructure. I know I am not the only one who hopes this encourages serious conversation about making cities more bike friendly.

Destroyed NYC Subway station post-Sandy needs to lead to….

…more of this, more often.

I think we all agree that biking is important for many different reasons, even if we don’t all agree on how or why. My goal is to find a way to be part of the conversation. If that means I need to visit every bicycle friendly community to determine what works best for them, so be it! Wearing something reflective of course.

Starry Starry Night skirt in progress

It’s funny to look back at all the twists and turns my life has taken, but I believe I’m now on the path I was meant to be on. Thanks for coming with me this far. Let’s see what happens next!

Christmas Day in the early 80s (I think?) – testing out my new bike AND my new legwarmers. I think I’m using the same style handlebars…

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “50th Anniversary

  1. I love the leg warmers. Those were the days! Enjoy your blog and congrats on the 50 posts since February. AND looking forward to seeing your starry starry night skirt as a finished product!

  2. Congratulations on 50 posts! I for one am looking forward to seeing what your quest for cute reflective cycling clothes leads you to make. The Starry Night skirt looks awesome so far–are the “fireworks sparkles” in the fabric reflective, too?

    • I wish the fireworks were reflective! I could always embroider them with reflective thread but I’m not that patient of a person… We’ll see – they do need something, don’t they? I love your reflective wings, by the way! Great idea – hm… : )

      • Thanks—they’re a lot of fun. I might just have to start wearing them for my everyday commute now that it’s getting darker.

        Where do you get reflective thread? I’ve seen metallic and glow in the dark, but not reflective. Oh, the possibilities!

Leave a Reply

