Raleigh-the-Fish, Not Raleigh-the-Bike

Ever since we saw a vintage-looking Raleigh in Copenhagen, I’ve been somewhat obsessed with them. I really want one! Somehow that turned into me getting a Betta and naming it Raleigh…

Raleigh (the Fish)

Raleigh (the Fish)

Two friends adopted dogs recently, so I decided that it was time to get a Betta. I have been pet-free for a long time now, maybe four years, ever since my beloved mini lop rabbit, Tobie, died.

Tobie, in 2008

Tobie, in 2008

In true multi-modal fashion, Raleigh (and his tank, and gravel, and rocks, and a live plant, and two kinds of food…) came home with me on the bus. I was afraid he’d get even more seasick on my bike, plus, it was warmer on the bus…

Raleigh on the way home on the bus

Raleigh on the way home on the bus

Upgrading to a tank is a big deal for me, since I’ve always had Bettas in bowls. But I really liked the idea of having live plants, and I’m told that this is the best route. I started off with one plant, but will definitely add more in.

Home Sweet Tank

Home Sweet Tank

I’ve noticed that Raleigh likes to hide in the corner behind the leaves, so I think he’ll also soon acquire a log or something to hide in or under. He totally freaked me out the first morning – he was floating upside down under the plant. I was sure he was dead, but when I turned the tank light on, he sort of shook himself right side up, then swam off. I guess he was sleeping upside down?

Raleigh, head up in a corner

Raleigh, head up in a corner

I caught him later dozing in the corner, head up. I’ve never seen a fish do this before (not that I’ve had that many), and it kinda cracks me up. He’s a juvenile, so I like to think he’s a 14 year old boy wishing he had a skateboard (in this household he’d get a BMX bike).

Testing out his "hammock" - it's near the surface so he can lay around and gulp the air. Sort of like the poolside bar.

Testing out his “hammock” – it’s near the surface so he can lay around and gulp the air. Sort of like the poolside bar.

So this will be my fourth major hobby, I guess, after bicycles and sewing and my CERT team. Because I don’t have enough to do already! But it’s nice to have a pet again. If I get a Raleigh bike, I may have to name it Fish.Top 016

Leave a Reply

