Thinking Spring with a Reflective Peplum Top

It’s that dangerous time of the year, when I’m bored with my winter wardrobe and clicking through dozens and dozens of slide shows from New York Fashion Week – when I start to fantasize about my Spring and Summer wardrobe.  And then I start to cruise my favorite shopping websites… and fill up my virtual shopping carts…

Madewell Ankle Strap Mini Wedge - love the comfy heel!

Madewell Ankle Strap Mini Wedge – love the comfy heel!

Tibi Leather Peplum Top - rather Joan of Arc, don't you think?

Tibi Leather Peplum Top – rather Joan of Arc, don’t you think?

Banana Republic Peplum Top and Crops

Banana Republic Peplum Top and Crops

So I decided to tear myself away from the Internet, and get some sewing done.

I finished this peplum top on President’s Day, but of course it will be months before I can wear it. Top 014Naturally the ribbon trim is reflective! I used fabric I’d purchased last year when I was trying to find something to make my Reflective Dress with. I loved the print but it’s too much for a whole dress. It’s super cute as a top though!

Paired with skinny jeans and my Merrell bike heels - I can't wait for Spring to wear this!

Paired with skinny jeans and my Merrell bike heels – I can’t wait for Spring to wear this!

Slightly more subtle reflection going on, compared to some of my other projects.

Slightly more subtle reflection going on, compared to some of my other projects. (Note the reflective tab on the shoes, too…)

It was a fairly easy Vogue pattern, and I’m sure I’ll make another. Or a few more. I have some printed cottons that would be cute in this too. I’m not 100% happy with the way the neckline turned out, but you know what they say -practice makes perfect!

I love the little bow at the waist, too.

I love the little bow at the waist, too.

I am headed to NYC in a few weeks for a quickie weekend trip, and my first stop will be the garment district. I have a pants pattern that needs good fabric, and a list of notions and fabrics that I can’t get here. I can’t wait to start the pants! I’ve always avoided making fitted pants because they are so tricky to fit, but I’ll force myself to go slow…

Until then, I’ll go back to trolling the Internet for more “window” shopping. I’ve finally joined Pinterest, so we’ll see what happens with that. I’d suggest you follow me, but I have no idea yet how it works, so stay tuned!

Ooh, this Tahari blouse is cute....

Ooh, this Tahari blouse is cute….

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Thinking Spring with a Reflective Peplum Top

  1. I love the print and cut of your peplum top!
    The bow around the middle is adorable. Have you checked in to the market need for these articles of clothing you are making? I bet other women/ladies would love the stuff you have been making.
    Cheers,
    Laura

    • Thanks Laura, for your comments! I have been playing around with the idea of an Etsy shop with some of these things, to test out the waters. It’s a rather time-consuming hobby, and I’m not sure I’m ready to make the plunge to the business side of it yet. But based on feedback, it seems like there would be interest. We’ll see…
      : )
      Elizabeth

      • You could always look at working with an existing company. You could design for them and they could worry about production. I’m sure I have seen a couple of young guns doing bike/business appropriate pants and shirts for guys, maybe they would be interested in expanding in to ladies??
        Anyway, you are very clever! I wish you well. 🙂
        Cheers,
        Laura

Leave a Reply

