Bad Bike Karma – Twice!

I have been so relieved and impressed at how well my 75 mile bike ride went last week, and now, in the last 24 hours, I’ve had both bikes go out of commission! Bike karma biting me in the a**?

I had been apprehensive about doing my Team in Training 74 mile ride on August 10, after having been out of town, which meant I’d missed two Saturdays of riding. Not only that, but I hadn’t been to the gym or anything since I’d been back in town, so the milage seemed quite daunting. The longest I’d done up to that point was 56 miles. But I did it! I followed the advice of a pro in my office, and ate frequently on the bike, and I guess that helped. It was actually a really lovely ride.

The firs SAG stop was in North Beach, an adorable beach town that I want to return to.

The firs SAG stop was in North Beach, an adorable beach town that I want to return to.

The second SAG stop was in Galeville, next to the harbor and The Pirates' Cove, a restaurant I'm sure I'd like - hey, it's pirates!

The second SAG stop was in Galesville, next to the harbor and The Pirates’ Cove, a restaurant I’m sure I’d like – hey, it’s pirates!

The total ride was almost 76 miles, thanks to a detour I made while hunting for a restroom…

75.70 miles in 6:10:58. Average speed 12.2 mph - pretty proud of that!

75.70 miles in 6:10:58. Average speed 12.2 mph – pretty proud of that!

The rest of the weekend was an exhausted blur of out-of-town guests, but amazingly I didn’t feel as sore as I expected. Whew! (I’m also super close to my fundraising goal, which makes me happy as well.)

The Mechanic and I got a surprise Sunday while we were driving around with Donner (my matte black Cannondale road bike) in the back of the Big Green Van – it took us a minute to realize the sound we were hearing was one of my bike tires explosively leaking. Since we’d noticed the back tire was getting worn, we assumed it was just that. And we were wrong. The front tire was flat!

Donner and his flat front tire in the Big Green Van

Donner and his flat front tire in the Big Green Van

We left it until last night, and when I moved the bike to reach it better, discovered that the back tire was flat as well! What?!?! Long story short – the rim tape under the tube was apparently thin enough that the tube not only bulged into the spokes holes, it allowed big gashes to form, almost simultaneously. We’ve never over-inflated it (I can barely pump it up at all), and the bike only has about 850 miles on it, so I am a bit disappointed that this happened. Easily fixed, but it meant spending this evening buying new rim tape, and not getting to ride in the lovely weather we had today.

Oh the indignity!

Oh the indignity!

Then to add insult to injury, Fauntleroy got injured! After spending all day locked up in his normal spot at the bike rack at work, with six other bikes, I hop on and ride home, only to have the chain get tangled up. Closer inspection showed that the biggest front chain ring had been bent in towards the other rings, and the teeth were catching on everything. Although I can see the bent in the ring, it was hard to get a good picture. There is also blue paint on the bent ring.

Top edge of big ring bent slightly inwards...

Top edge of big ring bent slightly inwards…

Paint left behind from whatever smashed the ring.

Paint left behind from whatever smashed the ring.

My first thought was that the bike had somehow fallen over while locked up, but I saw it around lunchtime and it was fine. I checked with my colleague who parks next to me, and she hadn’t noticed anything awry, so I have no idea when it would have happened. But considering that the color of the racks matches the blue of the paint chips on the bike, I still conclude that it somehow fell into the rack.

Fauntleroy goes on the close end of this rack.

Fauntleroy goes on the close end of this rack. (like the green paint, signifying the “green” parking spaces in the garage?)

I am sure it’s an easy fix; The Mechanic is away or it would already be done. I don’t want to fuss with it in case I make it worse! For now I just have two injured bikes – it’s a bit sad, really. I feel much more intimately connected with these bikes than I ever did to my cars, so it feels more personal, somehow. It pains me that my bikes are damaged. Am I the only one who is that attached to their bikes?!

So the real question is – how do I overcome this bad bike karma before my next long ride on Saturday?!?!?

Donner, before he went belly up

Donner, before he went belly up

 

2 thoughts on “Bad Bike Karma – Twice!

    • Technically I still need to find a new crank set for my commuter bike, but it has my mountain bike set for now, so at least I can use it! No time for mountain biking at the moment anyway, alas.

Leave a Reply

