Obsessing

I sort of have one of those obsessive compulsive minds. I tend to obsess over something until I’ve either decided I don’t like or want it any more, find something shinier, get whatever it is I’m obsessing over, or get so overwhelmed by the options that I give up.  I just want to make sure that I have done all the research I possibly can before I make a decision. When I turned in the first draft of my thesis in grad school, my thesis adviser’s first comment was, “I knew you were doing a lot of research, but I had no idea you had done that much!” Even if my decision is to go with my gut, I still do the research.

Top four shelves and folders on top = part of my grad school thesis research.

Top four shelves and folders on top = part of my grad school thesis research.

This long weekend I have done nothing but obsess over things, rather than actually being productive.

I’m trying really hard to not be one of Those Brides. You know, the ones they make movies and tv shows out of. And I think for the most part I’m succeeding – the venue is booked, the menu decided on; the florist is on standby; the bakery is on standby; the photographer already received a deposit; we’ve worked out how we want to do the legal part of it (that is, City Hall a few days before); we know our theme and colors; the flower girl already has her dress…. Not wanting a big formal, traditional wedding makes the planning much easier. But the decision on The Dress? Yep, totally obsessing over it.

"Bridezillas" TV show - eek.

Bridezillas” TV show – eek.

Not that this should come as a shock – what do I spend my free time obsessing over, normally? What I want to wear. What I want to sew to wear. What I might want to wear. What I’ve worn in the past. Yes, obsessing over fashion is my favorite thing to do, so naturally, I would do the same with a wedding dress.

I am going to be home for Thanksgiving, and have set up two appointments at different wedding dress stores, so my mom and aunt and I can have our “Say Yes to the Dress” moments. We’ve even agreed that we should stage a fight over one of the dresses, just because! So I’ve spent this weekend pouring through every single dress option in my price range, and a bit above. I set a super-low (for a wedding dress) budget of $200-300, and I’m perfectly comfortable in the knowledge that this might mean a bridesmaids dress. That’s fine, not sure I want to get married in white (or ivory) anyway. I look better in blue, and really, I’m over 40 – is white really that appropriate?

I had to post this David's Bridal one just because the bride is with her bicycle!

I had to post this David’s Bridal one just because the bride is with her bicycle!

Wait a minute - the groom is on a bike! Seems a bit risky with that big pouffy dress...

Wait a minute – the groom is on a bike! Though this seems a bit risky with that big poufy dress

But there are so many options out there! Do I want V-neck, or bateau, or ball gown or A-line? Strapless or halter? Pink? Blush? Champagne? Lace, or chiffon? The more I look, the more I find. Ugh.  As I started to assemble my favorite designs, I realized that there is very little consistent with my choices, not even the price tag! (I’d post favorite options, but I don’t want The Mechanic to see them, so these aren’t necessarily ones I love…) I’m so glad I will have some fittings soon, so I can rule out what I don’t want.

I’ve also been obsessing over a new sewing idea. Embellished and “dressy” sweatshirts are all the rage at the moment, and since I haven’t been able to find fabric I like for my colorblock sweatshirt, I thought I’d use my lovely Liberty of London corduroy to make a sweatshirt – corduroy on front, gray or burgundy back and sleeves. Except I can’t find a decent pattern! Grr… Since I dragged my feet and didn’t venture out to the fabric stores, I guess I’ll put this off until I’m out with my mom and aunt as well. They are both crafty and won’t mind a cruise through the local JoAnn’s.

This McCalls pattern might work well - corduroy on the front panel, and plenty of seams for reflective piping.

This McCalls pattern might work well – corduroy on the front panel, and plenty of seams for reflective piping.

This Vogue pattern was my original idea, but I'm not sure it is exactly what I was looking for.

This Vogue pattern was my original idea, but I’m not sure it is exactly what I was looking for.

So at least I’m not ONLY obsessing over my wedding dress… That’s good, right? Right? Maybe I need to go for a bike ride.

 

 

One thought on “Obsessing

Leave a Reply

