Excuses, Excuses

I promised I wouldn’t shop until after our honeymoon, with the exception of wedding related things, and I haven’t so far. But I did some “wedding” related shopping over the weekend. After ordering invitations, I ordered perfume from Sephora. I’m supposed to have a wedding fragrance, all the bridal magazines tell me, and although I’m perfectly happy to ignore their instructions on most things, this seemed like a good excuse to buy the perfume I’ve been wanting for ages, Clinique Happy. And since I pulled out my favorite Issey Miyake perfume recently, and discovered that it no longer smells the way it’s supposed to, well, that was clearly a sign. (And who knew that 8 year old perfume really would not smell the same anymore?! See how infrequently I wear a fragrance?)

I’ve liked Clinique Happy for a while, but really wanted this “coffret,” a set of small bottles of the different versions they make. This way I can try all the different ones without committing to a full-size bottle. The little bottles are so adorable, great for travel or keeping at work, and the scents really do make me happy.

My Sephora goodies arrived today!

My Sephora goodies arrived today!

I also got a bunch of samples, so I will be excited to try some new products. I’m a pretty simple, stick-to-the basics makeup girl, but occasionally it’s fun to try different things. I love tinted moisturizers and BB creams, so the Buxom “Show Some Skin” foundation and Boscia BB Cream will be great to try. The Boscia has PA ++ sunscreen in it, which is a better sunscreen than you can find in most products. (It’s also expensive, which is why I don’t already wear it, sunscreen addict that I am.)  And I’ll need some help around the eyes before wedding photos, so the GlamGlow looks like fun. Pricey, but a fun sample. The Josie Maran Argan Cleansing Oil (not actually a sample, but a travel size product I paid for) seems risky – cleaning my face with oil? Hello breakouts! But considering the cold temperatures, I might need a bit more pampering. So I’m willing to try it.

So I’ve filed this one under the “I”m getting married” excuse for now – we’ll see how long I can get away with this! At least until June, right?!

Leave a Reply

