Children, Bicycles, and a Few Pets

Today’s bicycle social media theme was kids and bikes, and I just had to share.

The first one is from Treehugger, in an article called “Babies on Bikes.” I love all the kids riding in front of their parents, perfectly happy, looking around (okay, one boy looked definitely unhappy, but he’s alone in that). And I love the rural shots of the band members, Theun Ithe and his sisters – I want to ride where they were! Naturally they are Dutch, doing what they do best, ride bikes. Nothing special, just biking around with kids on the bike. You know, as one does.

Babies on Bikes Dutch Music Video (screenshot from video)

Babies on Bikes Dutch Music Video (screenshot from video)

Then Momentum Magazine posted this great video of a little girl on her pink bike, rocking out to the Starship song, “We Built This City.” I just love the rebellious look on her face and she cruises around on her bike and sings. I have days like that, don’t you? (She’s great, too, by the way)

Rocking out on a bike, of course! (Screenshot from this video)

Rocking out on a bike, of course! (Screenshot from this video)

These two videos just make me happy, so I wanted to share them. Isn’t it nice to see positive, encouraging bike messaging, even if neither are from this country?

It’s nice, because it puts me in a better mood as we approach the National Bike Summit. I am going to the Women’s Bicycling Summit on Monday (thank you work!), and the social event the evening before, and I’m looking forward to it, but also a bit apprehensive. There are things about it I applaud, and things I’m not as excited about. I think it’s a shame that there is a separate day for women, but I guess I am glad that there is one at all. Of course I am looking forward to seeing the vendors – there are many new ones this year! As much as I love bicycle fashion, it’s not only about what we wear. It’s about making it seem more normal so that more women will be inspired to do it. That’s what I want to do – make it seem normal.

Of course, I also want a rabbit that I can put in my front basket and take on bike rides with me. I’m sure a mini lop ear rabbit would enjoy rocking out to some Starship too. That’s normal, right?

My mini lop Tobie and I, in 2006

My mini lop Tobie and I, in 2006

Leave a Reply

