Product Review: Hi Viz Scarf

I’m not a bit fan of hi viz yellow biking gear. It’s an awful color, for starters, unflattering to all, and it pretty much screams at everyone around them, a bit like emailing IN ALL CAPS.

But then I won this scarf in a raffle at a WABA Women & Bicycles event last weekend – the Bird Industries Hi Viz Infinity Scarf.

Winner! The Hi Viz Scarf

Winner! The Hi Viz Scarf

Although I went to the bike washing for women event to wash my bike (apartment renting and washing bikes are a difficult combination), I had seen this raffle prize on the event page, and really rather wanted it. Imagine my surprise when they actually called my raffle ticket number! I never win anything.

Yay, clean bike! You can't really tell, but I swear, he's clean!

Yay, clean bike! You can’t really tell, but I swear, he’s clean!

The scarf quickly won me over. Lightweight and made of strips of hi viz cotton jersey fabric, I think it will be a great spring/summer accessory. Under a coat collar it’s a bit hard to find, despite the glow. Although it has left fluorescent fuzz on my clothes, I can see me wearing this often. It’s so lightweight and airy that it hardly seems like wearing a scarf, and it’s uniqueness overcame my aversion to hi viz.

Made of of several strands of fabric, it's nice and light, not heavy and bulky

Made of of several strands of fabric, it’s nice and light, not heavy and bulky

I swear it glows! But looks good even with Missoni for Target stripes!

I swear it glows! But looks good even with Missoni for Target stripes!

I also love Bird Industries’ skirt garter. I can totally see this made with reflective detail, maybe a nice flapper tassel? I mean, if you are going to wear something like this, might as well make it hard to miss! I hope she makes one; I don’t want to copy her idea.

If you too are reluctant to wear hi viz (I know, it’s not terribly cycle chic), I suggest this great little scarf. It’s exactly what I love – fashion mixed with extra safety features! Check out owner/creator Amanda Stolle’s website (www.birdind.com), her Facebook page (facebook.com/birdindustries), and follow her on Twitter (@chkybird) to keep up with her other creations!

Don't worry, I won't let you wear spandex - unless you really, really want to...

Don’t worry, I won’t let you wear spandex – unless you really, really want to… if you are training for a century, perhaps….

 

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Hi Viz Scarf

Leave a Reply

