Yep, Out of Shape

I decided that since it was so lovely out today, and since I haven’t been getting enough exercise, to bike the long way home. Twelve miles instead of three. Bit of a difference! And although I felt a bit out of shape, I was also pleasantly surprised at how strong I felt.

I left Rosslyn by way of the new bike counter – at last I was counted! I don’t normally go that way, so it was worth the detour. I think it said I was number 1202 for the day, but I was too busy avoiding the clueless roadies that I didn’t pay too much attention. The Mount Vernon Trail reminded me of why I like my streets-and-bike-lanes commute – much less crowded than the trails! Everyone was out! It was a sea of Ortlieb, spandex and hi viz. I was happy to turn onto the Four Mile Run trail, but that’s when it got worse. Headwind, setting sun, uphill, and what’s up with the crazy narrow switchback going up into Potomac Yards?! The turns were too tight for my bike skills. I did notice a couple of roadies carrying their bikes up and down the stairs, which is probably the best option, but still not ideal. Who came up with this plan?!?!

Switchback detour route over a bridge that can normally be passed under.

Switchback detour route over a bridge that can normally be passed under. Not fun.

At least the Four Mile Run, Shirlington Connector, and W&OD Trail were not as crowded as Mount Vernon, even if they were all uphill and into the wind. My legs had felt pretty strong initially, and I was pleased to see I was cruising along in the 14 and 15 mph range (I usually average about 12mph, so I’m pretty slow. I can’t even blame it on the heavier commuter bike,  since that’s about my road bike average as well.).

Almost the entire Arlington Loop!

Almost the entire Arlington Loop!

But I was very pleased with the ride, because it felt good and wasn’t as painful as I expected. I think I’ll try to do that more often, maybe once a week. I need to get back into shape before our honeymoon bike trip. Although we’ll only do about 20-25 miles a day, it’s still way more than my daily 6 miles roundtrip to work! Plus I have a wedding dress to fit into….

And yes, I did the entire 12 miles while wearing vintage rhinestones.

And yes, I did the entire 12 miles while wearing vintage rhinestones.

 

5 thoughts on “Yep, Out of Shape

Leave a Reply

