Product Review: My Beloved Cleverhood

Let me first state that I really can’t say enough good things about my Cleverhood. I really, really love it. It makes me ride in the rain, which, until I had one, was something I was NOT keen on. But now it keeps me so dry that I don’t mind.

(Now that I’ve said that, I have to also say that I wore it today on my bike and on foot, and it works better on a bike! It has poured rain all day, with some strong winds, which meant lots of diagonal gusts. I was pretty dry when I got to work this morning, but doing to a doctor’s appointment in the afternoon had me out in the aforementioned diagonal gusts, so everything the Cleverhood didn’t cover was soaked. And I mean inches of water inside my boots. Bleh.  But when I biked home again, still in the rain, I felt much  more comfortable. Moral of the story? Wearing a Cleverhood whilst biking in the rain is the better option.)

I got my Cleverhood last fall, as an engagement gift*, and it was pretty much love at first sight. I mean, it’s reflective! “Electric Houndstooth,” to be exact. And you know how I feel about that.

I love all the well-thought-out details, too. The elastic thumb loops to keep it on my handle bars, the magnetic closure on the arm slits, Velcro tabs at the sides to cinch it in a bit if desired, a chest pocket, and best of all, the hood is cut away so that when it’s under your helmet, you can still see out the sides! That’s always been my biggest objection to hoods, not being able to see around them. Susan, the founder and leader of Team Cleverhood, thought of all kinds of practical things! (Having met her, I have to say I think she’s pretty awesome, too!) The only thing I dislike about the ‘hood is that the hem has a tendency to curl up, and I’m not sure why. It’s not a huge deal, just mildly annoying to the sartorial neat-freak in me.

I’ve worn it on my bike, instead of carrying an umbrella on days I didn’t bike, and even in the snow, over my heaviest “blizzard” coat. The bonus to the Cleverhood is that it’s not hot and heavy, and I can throw it on over a coat, and not overheat, so it works great as the very top layer. And all the bags I carry under it are miraculously dry! Just like the rest of me.

Lovely packaging, with a reflective bow!

Lovely packaging, with a reflective bow!

Prepared for another massive snowstorm, complete in biking goggles ($4 safety goggles from Home Depot!) and my Cleverhood to top it all off.

Prepared for another massive snowstorm, complete in biking goggles ($4 safety goggles from Home Depot!) and my Cleverhood to top it all off.

Here I am on a Capital Bikeshare bike in my Cleverhood. (Not the best photo since we were hurrying in the rain...)

Here I am on a Capital Bikeshare bike in my Cleverhood. (Not the best photo since we were hurrying in the rain…)

The Mechanic even got in on the game when he was also gifted one, but he wanted a more subdued olive green color. His is not fully reflective like mine is, but it has reflective detail on the shoulders. I’d show you but I’ve somehow managed to lose the photos! I’ll add it once I find it again…

To sum up, I really just love this product. It keeps me so dry in all kinds of conditions, and since it’s lightweight, I know I can wear it throughout all the upcoming warm weather spring showers. I also plan on taking it to Europe with me when we go on our honeymoon. I’m sure that not only will it be handy if it rains during our bike tour, but any other time, and we can easily throw them over our backpacks. Although we both plan to do bike accessories shopping while overseas, it will be nice to show off a great American-made product as well!

So get yourself a Cleverhood and bike dry, bike happy!

 

 *Full disclosure – Susan gave it to me as an engagement present last fall, an extremely generous and well-loved, well-used gift! Probably better than the wine decanter we registered for. She did not ask me to write a review of any kind, or promote it in any way, but because I love it so much, I really wanted to. It’s taken me half a year to really test it out, and I am still impressed with it every time I wear it.

One thought on “Product Review: My Beloved Cleverhood

Leave a Reply

