The National Bike Summit is less than three weeks away, and the National Forum on Women & Bicycling before that. I am excited that I am allowed to attend the Women & Bikes Forum again, and intrigued by the League of American Bicyclists’ theme of “Bikes + Women Leaders = Big Ideas.” Always hoping to encourage more women to take leadership roles in the world of bike advocacy, they are showcasing different women and organizations that have taken on these roles in their communities. I am always inspired by hearing these stories, even if I am myself a reluctant advocate.

At the 2014 Forum

At the 2014 Forum

One of the things I have come to value about this event is knowing that so many of the women in the industry will be in one room at one time! The newsmakers, the stylemakers, those who push the envelope and lead the way – all there. Of course, most of them I only know through social media, so I could be rubbing elbows with someone and not necessarily know it. I wish our Twitter handles were on our name tags as well! That would help identify people, and make Tweeting about the event easier. I’ve studied the agenda, and I am looking forward to hearing from representatives from all over, such as Tulsa Hub, Nuu Muu, and Multicultural Communities for Mobility, among others.

At the 2014 Forum

At the 2014 Forum

Of course, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to the pop up shops, too…. Discovering new artists and vendors is just as important to me as hearing about the amazing bicycle work being done around the country. And I’ve already started making a new garment to wear. I just realized I don’t have much time left to finish it, and since I don’t really understand the pattern instructions, I’m a bit nervous now. I’m sure it will make sense when I start moving pieces around, though. I just hope it doesn’t snow – last year’s blizzard on the day of the forum was not ideal.

Excited to see how this turns out with that black reflective fabric!

Excited to see how this turns out with that black reflective fabric!

 

3 thoughts on “Prepping for the National Forum on Women & Biking

      • I know what you mean since my partner has been a volunteer cycling advocate for many years.

        I was active on the board for a local women’s cycling group in Toronto for 5 years. We did workshops, led rides and did a newsletter.

Leave a Reply

