The Mechanic and I celebrated our first weeding anniversary on June 14th, and naturally went to our favorite spot out of town and wedding location, Shepherdstown, WV. It will probably be next year before we get to go back, the way our (mostly my) travel schedule for fall is shaping up, so we tried to do some new things as well as revisit some wedding things.

One of the things we decided to do was to stop at one of many Virginia wineries on the way to Shepherdstown. I discovered that the Breaux Winery was holding it’s 18th annual Cajun Festival and Crawfish Boil on the 13th, so we decided to stop. I’d never had crawfish before, but The Mechanic was eager to have them again. We were pleasantly surprised at how much fun it was! A live Zydeco band, wine tasting, souvenir wine glasses and beads, local vendors, food trucks, and arts-and-crafts kept us happily busy for a few hours.

Another thing we decided to do on our way was stop at the Appalachian Trail crossing and walk a bit on the Trail. The parking lot is in a fairly awkward blink-and-you’ll-miss-it sort of location on the side of a very busy road, but we managed to get into it and find one of the last parking spots. Fun to stop and see what it is like. Someday we’ll check out more of it, elsewhere, for more than 10 minutes.

Our “new” adventures continued in Shepherdstown. I’d long been interested in Elmwood Cemetery, but didn’t realize that below the Memorial to Confederate Soldiers, it had a separate area for Confederate soldiers. The town itself is quite old (chartered in 1762, which is old for the United States but young for Europe and infantile for other cultures), and some of the tombstones attest to it’s mid-18th century origins.

After so much new exploration, we returned to the tried and true, and visited some favorite spots, places that also now have wedding significance for us.

The Rumsey Monument - we had wedding photos taken here last year.

The Rumsey Monument – we had wedding photos taken here last year.

Dinner at Bistro 112, a lovely French restaurant where we also had our rehearsal dinner the night before our wedding.

Dinner at Bistro 112, a lovely French restaurant where we also had our rehearsal dinner the night before our wedding. (yes, we drank all the wine in that pitcher!)

The Bavarian Inn, where we got married

The Bavarian Inn, where we got married

Our ceremony overlooked the Bavarian Inn's Infinity Pool, so we had to make sure we visited that!

Our ceremony overlooked the Bavarian Inn’s Infinity Pool, so we had to make sure we visited that!

The Mechanic surprised me with a gift I’d really wanted, but forgotten I’d mentioned – a Bird Industries reflective bracelet! I love it! Could it be any more perfect? I think not.

 

On the way home on June 14th, we made two other wedding-related stops. I bought flowers from Megan Webber Flowers at the Shepherdstown Farmer’s Market. She did our flowers last year, and she has the most artistic eye when it comes to flower! I really wish I could sign up for her flowers CSA. Then we stopped into the Shepherdstown Sweet Shop Bakery to pick up our anniversary cake. I would have never thought of this, but when we were ordering/designing our cake last year, we were told that the bakery keeps your receipe on file so you can order a smaller version of it for your first anniversary. We hadn’t planned to keep the top layer (we planned to eat it all!), so this was a fun option. Plus we thought it was really tasty and wanted more! So cute, they even decorated it like our wedding cake! Anniversary Cake and FlowersMegan Webber FlowersI had planned to wear my wedding skirt in Shepherdstown on Sunday but realized too far out of town on Saturday that I had forgotten to grab it! Dammit! I had very carefully packed it in a garment bag, but then somehow ran out of the apartment without it. I was very disappointed, so I made sure I put it on when The Mechanic and I walked to our massages when we got home Sunday afternoon. A bit overdressed for a massage, but I wanted to make sure I wore it on our anniversary! It still isn’t hemmed, and now goodness knows when I’ll get around to doing that – someone needs to invite me to a garden party to force me to do it! And then I can dress it up a bit.

It was a pretty low-key anniversary, but one full of both old and new memories. I guess that is the way they should all be, right? Anniversary Cake

 

3 thoughts on “First Anniversary Weekend in Shepherdstown

  1. Congrats. Funny how I also ate crawfish (in jambalaya) and hiked a bit of the AT this weekend. I highly recommend hiking along the AT. I’m planning on going out to Shenandoah Nationsl Park this weekend for another go.

Leave a Reply

