I got distracted last night by a pin I saw on Pinterest: BloggerCollage-600x600It was accompanied by the words “Want to join our team of Guest Bloggers?” – well heck yeah! I clicked on the link and practically drooled on my computer screen. Blog about sewing? I think I can do that!

The fantasies swirled in my head as I envisioned all the cool things I would make with Britex Fabric, for a fabric store I’ve loved since the late 1980s. It was Mecca when I was in high school and still has that same feel, despite experiencing Manhattan Garment District shops. I did make something last fall with fabric I purchased at Britex last summer, and naturally I sent that blog post in with my “application.”

I studied the current Britex Guest Bloggers, too. They look like a group of really talented people and have some pretty interesting blogs and shops of their own. It’s cool to see so many who design and sell their own patterns, too, since pattern drafting is something I enjoyed when I took the classes decades ago. Check out Grainline Studio’s collection, and By Hand London, and I particularly love April Rhodes’ “Riding Peplum and Party Dress” pattern – designed for “a horse, a bike or a motorcycle”! I feel like I need to buy that pattern just because (and one of the models is wearing the same Dansko sandals I have and love). And Jamie Christina is modeling her “Sunny Day Dress” on a bicycle! I think these people understand the sewing and biking success combo!

April Rhodes "The Riding Peplum & Party Dress pattern (image from website) - cute, designed for biking, and the blonde model is wearing my shoes!

April Rhodes “The Riding Peplum & Party Dress pattern (image from website) – cute, designed for biking, and the blonde model is wearing my shoes!

Although I got an email shortly after I applied thanking me for my application and saying I was being considered, I can’t imagine they’ll pick me. I think my sewing theme (reflective office fashion) is a bit too avant garde, even for San Francisco. But it got me thinking about my sewing and where I might want to take it next. Rather than design and sell my own line, I’d rather guest blog for other companies and review other people’s designs and products.

And continue to sew for myself. Although the pattern is a bit complicated and stretches all my spatial visualization skills to picture in my head, the Vogue V9087 asymmetrical top with the floral reflective fabric is coming together well. I’m trying hard to get through the work week until Saturday when I can sit down again and SEW! My fingers are itching to get this done and start the next project! I definitely identify with this funny blog post on the McCalls Pattern Company Blog, about what happens to the writer when she goes too long without sewing. I’m glad to know it isn’t just me who feels this way! Check out all the comments!

V9087 coming together

V9087 coming together

I don't know how this fabuous floral reflective pattern will read to others but I LOVE it!

I don’t know how this fabulous floral reflective pattern will read to others but I LOVE it!

Funny how I can’t seem to get away from the need to design and sew…

Leave a Reply

