While I was in Vancouver, a colleague and his girlfriend were dashing around Europe, culminating their trip in Copenhagen. Although they were there for Noma, they graciously (and perhaps patiently on her part) ducked into a few bike shops in search of the light that goes on the front of my Copenhagen-purchased front basket. Last summer I took a picture of one when The Mechanic and I were briefly in Copenhagen, so I begged my colleague to look while he was there.

Success!  

 
He found the perfect light! Flat, with bolts that fit the panel on the front of my basket, and an on-and-off switch under the realtors.  

 
It was super easy to install, although The a Mechanic is going to cut the bolts down so they don’t snag whatever I put in the basket. I love the way it looks, too. The front basket finally feels complete.  

 
I do wish it had a blink option, and it’s not as bright as my current front light, but since I rarely ride after dark on the unlit trails, I don’t foresee this being a problem. I’m sure this light is enough for Copenhageners, who get to bike in separated bike lanes in mostly well-lit streets. (Yes, envious.) 

I also looked up Spectra – spectraparts.com – and they sell some lovely bike bags. Lesigh. The tag says “made in Finland,” although I don’t know if that refers to the card or the light, and there is a CyclEurope logo on the back. It’s hard not to be envious.

But for now I am quite happy with my Danish bike light! It feels perfectly, no?  

 

Leave a Reply

