There are all kinds of mutinous thoughts going on in my head this fall. Am I getting restless? Lived in one place too long? Is climate change warming up my thought process?! First, I decided to investigate replacing my current and beloved commuter bike with a step-through frame, and now I am considering getting rid of <gasp!> my road bike.

I’m going to give you a few minutes to let that sink in.

I was already interested in longer bike rides when The Mechanic and I “got serious.” He helped me pick out Donner, my road bike, a matte black and white Cannondale Synapse, and bought his own (also a Cannondale) to ride area trails fast and loose with me. We did the CASA River Ride in Shepherdstown, WV, together, and discovered our favorite nearby getaway. Eventually I mastered SPD pedals and never fell (just admitting that means I’ve jinxed it and will the next time I’m out!). I trained for and completed the Seagull Century, putting in goodness knows how many miles on that bike. It’s fast and light, and I love the speed and agility of the road bike, compared to my commuter bike.

Bringing the bike home from REI, March 2012

Bringing home Donner from REI, March 2012

First ride to Herndon!

First ride to Herndon!

Donner Shoes

OMG, clipless pedals!

Our bikes resting after the CASA River Ride, my first half-century, in 2012

Our bikes resting after the CASA River Ride, my first half-century, in 2012

But since the Century, my interest has faded. Specifically, my willingness to forgo anything else on the weekends faded – training for the Century took up all my weekends, and I was getting more and more into sewing, The Mechanic and I were planning our wedding and bicycling around Europe, and frankly, riding the multi-use trails around here drives me nuts because they are so crowded with both oblivious pedestrians and focused roadies. And although there are plenty of less crowded places further away from the core, that requires loading up the bikes and driving somewhere, which goes back to the “taking up all the free weekend time.”

And I tried mountain biking for the first time - fun!

And I tried mountain biking for the first time – fun!

This year, The Mechanic and I signed up for the CASA River Ride again, then forced ourselves to train at least a few times. “What’s fifty miles?” we said – and it wasn’t bad.

Our road bikes on this year's CASA River Ride

Our road bikes on this year’s CASA River Ride

But since then…. it’s been sitting. The Mechanic has already decided to get rid of his. I feel like I’m betraying an old friend by even thinking about getting rid of Donner!

I’ve thought it out this way – I like bike touring. Traveling throughout the countryside by bike, like we did in Germany. I want to do more of that! If I get rid of Donner, my road bike, I could turn Fauntleroy, my current commuter bike, into a touring bike, and get a folding bike on which to commute. Or, I could get a step-through bike (which I really want, if I can find the right frame), turn the commuter bike into a touring bike, keep the mountain bike, and The Mechanic and I share custody of a folding bike. Or…. it seems like there are many combinations, but they all involve other bikes than the road bike.

This is the life... even in the rain...

This is the life… even in the rain…

I haven’t committed to anything yet, but whispers of mutiny are there. Can my bike world handle such dramatic upheaval?! We’ll see who is standing when Spring arrives in 2016.

3 thoughts on “Mutiny in My Bike World

  1. Fun post! It is fun to strategize about what bikes to own. I am about to get rid of my trusty commuter hybrid bike to free up space in my garage. I just bought a carbon Raleigh Revenio 4.0 bike that I am running single speed to prepare for a 150-mile single speed trip from Minneapolis, MN to Duluth, MN! I’ll post about it soon. davidbusacker.wordpress.com

  2. I feel like bikes are like shoes – you can never have too many of them. Hah! But seriously, I currently own three bikes, which are more or less in use frequently – a Fuji touring bike, a Brompton, and a Gary Fisher mountain bike. I also have a vintage road bike that I’d like to refurbish and maybe turn into a fixie or single speed. Yes, I have a shed.

    That being said, I think there’s nothing mutinous about letting go of things that no longer serve you. Our biking is like our lives, constantly evolving, and we can’t expect things to meet our ever-changing needs.

  3. Gasp! 🙂 As long as you enjoy biking, it should happen however is best for you. I love my road bike but at times I could really use a cheaper commuter to go to work or events. I only ride the road bike if it’s just a meeting and I’ll be going right home again or I drive. A mountain bike would be fun too.
    And I hear you on the multi-use trails. Inspite of the multiple posted signs people are always on the bike side, or jump in front of you or stop on the trail covering the entire width so there’s no where to pass.

Leave a Reply

