Many people I know, including friends younger than me (Millennials!) but not including my mother, don’t understand social media. They don’t want to be on Facebook, see no use for Twitter, and are marginally interested in Instagram. They claim that they have nothing to Tweet, nor care for the prattling of people they know, let alone people they don’t know. Blogging is too much work.

I, however, am thankful for social media. It has expanded my world more than I could have ever expected back in 2007 when I joined Facebook. I’ve reconnected with friends from my hometown, from my days of local theater, stayed connected with friends as we move around the world, stayed on top of current events, and met many people who are smart, interesting, interested in similar things, creative, talented, worldly, engaged, involved and inspiring. My interactions with them have expanded my horizons, inspired me to push my limits, and offered me opportunities to engage. I firmly believe that I bike differently and sew better because of my internet relationships.

So this Thanksgiving, while I am thankful for my family, friends, husband, health, prosperity, awesome job and work family, and safe, stable environment, I want to express my thankfulness for everyone whom I touch, frequently and infrequently, through social media. Thank you for your involvement in my life. Thank you for helping me grow.

I'm nuts about you all!

I’m nuts about you all!

Leave a Reply

