The Washington DC area is in for a real treat this weekend – we are expecting a serious blizzard! Yes, we are under a blizzard warning between 3pm on Friday and 6am Sunday. Forecasters all think that we should get about two feet of snow. This is pretty major, because this area doesn’t normally get that much. Metro is going to shut down the system all weekend (never mind how people who *have* to work on weekends and are transit-dependent are going to manage), and people are going on panicked runs to the grocery stores. After the commute meltdown last night in a mere inch of snow, I suspect that this impending doom will be taken more seriously. Word is that this could be as bad as the February 2010 storms – everyone remembers those too, even me.

I moved to DC from New York officially in February 2010; my parents came to help me move the last of my stuff out of my NYC apartment, and drive me down to Maryland, where I had been staying with friends since mid-December. My California parents were not thrilled when we got caught in the first snow somewhere in Delaware, and we stopped in the first motel we could find. After having been told that it rarely snows in DC, that month was a bit of a shock – two blizzards back to back, one of which ended up as one of the biggest storms in DC history! And after living in New York for ten years, I was appalled that Metro was paralyzed – that never happened during the snow storms in NYC!

I know it’s hard to gauge exactly what will happen with storms, even as they are thundering down upon us, so I’m not sure if I think the predictions are going to be overkill or maybe too conservative – lordy what a thought! I am hoping that we don’t lose power, because I plan to get a lot of sewing done! Or knock out some other chores, like putting together our 2015 Shutterfly yearbook. And I need to do yoga to make up for not biking to work this week – I can’t handle the cold, and don’t see any need to suffer to get bad-ass points.

I draw the line with the "feels like" is below 0*F and I don't care if you call me a wimp.

I draw the line with the “feels like” is below 0*F and I don’t care if you call me a wimp.

We could be sorry, since neither The Mechanic nor myself made a huge rush to the grocery store, but I did stock up on some things. I’m also sorting through my emergency preparedness kit, just so I know what I’ve got. It’s hard to know what things will look like on Sunday, after the storm passes – will we have power? Will the area be brutalized like it was in 2010? Will we be able to get to work on Monday? We could be stuck for a few days. There’s always one more day to stock up, however!

Storm Prep

Storm Prep

After a pretty crappy week, I’m looking forward to being at home and not talking to anyone. I am looking forward to being able to sew up a storm while it’s storming outside. Maybe then I’ll feel better.

3 thoughts on “Sewing Up A Storm

  1. Global warming can not be denied! I lived
    near Annapolis in the 80’s for 2 years and
    this blizzard is not normal. It is cozy to be home with a fire and I hope your power stays online so that you can sew, work on photo album and enjoy some wine with the mechanic.

    • I agree, this is climate change on display. It’s nice to be tucked inside. I feel for those who need to be out in it, like the poor maintenance guys who are already clearing the walkways. It’s a losing battle but they have to do it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

