My commuter bicycle, Little Lord Fauntleroy, to use his full name, turned four on Sunday, February 28th – almost a Leap Year baby! Aww… I love my bike and can’t see changing a thing about it. #bikelove

The story of how Fauntleroy came to be was described at the time in one of my early blog posts, “The Swan and The Secret Garden.” The Mechanic and I hadn’t been dating for that long when he offered to turn one of his bikes into a commuter bike for me. It’s funny to look back at what his bike was before it became Fauntleroy. No fenders, the crazy long handle bars (we eventually trimmed them down a bit), and the short and uncomfortable Brooks saddle… so different!

Before the transformation into Fauntleroy

Before the transformation into Fauntleroy

My how he’s grown! From the first iteration with the plastic lacy rear basket, to a Wald front basket, to several different saddles, to the lovely Copenhagen front basket and Swedish skirt guard, then leather wrapped handlebars and MonkeyLectric Lights….

Apparently the only photo I have of Fauntleroy with the lacy rear basket is the one time I tried the vertical bike racks at work

Apparently the only photo I have of Fauntleroy with the lacy rear basket is the one time I tried the vertical bike racks at work

Minus the rear basket, with a new front basket...

Minus the rear basket, with a new front basket…

Test ride Copenhagen style with no helmet (!!!), front basket and skirt guard

Test ride Copenhagen style with no helmet (!!!), front basket and skirt guard

Current Look

Current Look

There really isn’t anything I’d do to to change this bike right now. Yes, the paint is in desperate need of being redone but I can’t pick a color, so I’m avoiding it. Poor beat up bike! It’s been a fun, adventurous four years so far, and I can’t wait to see where we go in the next four! Happy 4th Birthday, Fauntleroy!

2 thoughts on “Happy 4th Birthday to My Beloved Bike

Leave a Reply

