It was bound to happen eventually – I got a rabbit.

I had rabbits years ago, when I lived in New York and knew nothing about them. When Tobie, my beloved lop, died in 2007, I knew it would be a long time before I had another, and in our current apartment, I didn’t really think we had the space. But…. the bunny longing increased, and I would occasionally haunt the Animal Welfare League of Arlington‘s website, to see what sweet bunnies they would have. It wasn’t until recently that I found The Right One.

Look at all that fluff!

Look at all that fluff!

It wasn’t too hard to convince The Mechanic to go look at bunnies, and we brought this little fuzz ball home August 26, 2016. A whopping 3lbs, we named him Gaston – a nod to lionhead rabbits‘ Belgian origins, as well as something a bit sinister to counter his small fluffy size. Belle’s nemesis in “Beauty and the Beast” wasn’t very nice but this Gaston is just as sweet as can be.

Nope, not a cat!

Nope, not a cat!

Hello, I am Gaston!

Hello, I am Gaston!

The Mechanic was picking on me, because I’ve always sworn that my bike Fauntleroy would stay in the living room, but didn’t blink when it came time to give Gaston space for his pen. Poor Fauntleroy has joined the other bikes in the storage space. And promptly got a flat tire. His way of getting back at me, I’m sure.

Gaston takes over

Gaston takes over

We have had two major adventure so far, in the short time we’ve had him. The first was to the vet, and the other is the construction of a custom pen.

Gaston needed a vet appointment as part of his adoption agreement, but since I suspected he had an eye inflection that was just as well. He did really well on his Lyft ride to Paws, Purrs and Exotics Animal Hospital, in Old Town Alexandria, where the vet determined that yes, he does have an eye infection. Now we have to give him oral antibiotics and put cream in his eyes twice a day for two weeks. No one is really happy about this arrangement. But Gaston sat quietly in my lap while we were at the vet, and has been fairly good about the medication process. (Confession – I ran into Stitch Sew Shop with him after his appointment… I couldn’t be *that* close to the store and not stop by! So he’s already learning about the sewing addiction.)

The Mechanic decided that he would build a two-story pen for Gaston, and over Labor Day weekend, we went to Home Depot and JoAnn Fabrics to stock up on supplies. Me being me, I had to get thematic and color-coordinated fabrics for the vinyl floor and blankets and rugs. I’m definitely working the Gaston’s Tavern theme – think woods and rustic and reds.

We will work on his pen and continue his medications, and try to get some improved litter box habits this month. And just spend time hanging out next to his pen, watching him and trying to get to know each other. I’m so excited by this fuzzy bunny! I’m very happy to have a rabbit in my life again.

Follow our adventures on Instagram and Twitter #gastonthelionhead

Follow our adventures on Instagram and Twitter #gastonthelionhead

THe Save

Save

Leave a Reply

