I don’t know how people who blog All. The. Time find time to do it. Lately, I’ve been struggling to blog once a week and even then I feel like I don’t have anything to talk about. Or time to properly research more serious bike-related posts that I want to write. Maybe it’s because I haven’t done any fun bike events. Also, I’m not sewing these days; no time yet. Pretty much finished up the unpacking at the new apartment, so that’s one more thing off the to-do list. Maybe next weekend I can get some holiday sewing done. But other than that, what do I have to write about? I am pondering some topics:

  • Perceptions of safety while biking
  • Holiday shopping balancing environmental and social concerns
  • Sewing. Costume design? I just saw “Fantastic Beasts” and *loved loved loved* the costumes…
  • Gaston
  • Bike storage and equity

Not really sure what else there is. Do you ever get the blogging blahs? And what do you do about it?

I kinda feel like this lately - snoozing in a comfy corner. Must be the cold weather...

I kinda feel like this lately – snoozing in a comfy corner. Must be the cold weather…

 

4 thoughts on “Blogging Blahs

  1. Moving is such a stressful process, and your readers don’t blame you for putting blogging on a back burner for now. Obviously this isn’t a political blog, but the past month may have been stressful in other ways, too. Gotta save your emotional energy for the important things!

    But when you do feel up to it, I really like the idea of “Holiday shopping balancing environmental and social concerns” — I’ve been thinking a lot about that topic lately. Particularly where fashion is concerned it seems like there would be a lot to say.

    • It’s true, life has been stressful for soooo many reasons lately! Add in additional (yet good) stress at work, and by the time I get home, I just want to stare at the walls, haha!

      I’m definitely feeling a blog post on that topic coming on, so stay tuned. I’m wrapping Christmas presents right now and pondering this, so it will probably be soon.

      Thanks so much for commenting, too! I really appreciate feedback and knowing what concerns others out there. Nice to know I’m not the only one, if you know what I mean. : )

      Cheers,
      Elizabeth

  2. Hello! I’ve never commented on your blog before but this post struck a chord. I know blogging must be hard…especially feeling pressured to come up with posts on some regular “schedule” when you have so many other things going on! Personally, I found your blog by searching for bike fashion (and you inspired me to sew some reflective clothing myself) but your writing style makes posts about just about anything interesting!

    Some advice (from a non-blogger): post when you have something to say! Don’t waste your time trying to force something out…if it isn’t fun to write, don’t post anything! People won’t forget about you 🙂
    I like that you talk about different aspects of your life…although at some point you may want to become a single-serving blog, I think this works for now!
    Also, it’s winter! Let yourself hibernate and gather strength for whatever spring brings.

    Anyways…not sure if this helps at all. Just wanted to let you know I hear you, and I like reading your blog, but no pressure if you want to take a break or anything!
    Allison

    • Allison, thank you so much for commenting! I really appreciate your feedback – it’s nice (okay, a relief) to know that people enjoy the writing no matter what. I’m also *thrilled* to hear that you started sewing reflective clothing as well!!! That’s the best thing I could hope for, since that’s really my favorite topic. Bike fashion is a trickier subject than I initially realized, and it seems like its so hard for small companies making their own bike fashion lines to stay in business. But by Spring, I’m sure I’ll be ready to go!

      Thank you again!!
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

