Well, I kind of gave up – I’ve been trying so hard for a long time to look more “corporate,” and I just can’t do it. So this is what happened:

Pink hair, don’t care!

Yes, I colored my hair pink! It actually has come out a lovely sort of rose-gold color after washing it yesterday, and I really love it. It’s just edgy enough to make me feel better, but not so crazy like blue streaks (which I really wanted). I’ve been blonde for a long time, so I was due for a change.

L’Oreal Colorista, a semi-permanent color – just what I wanted!

And I realized that I just can’t keep up the whole corporate look, it’s just not me. I need to be creative and express myself. Sure, I like blazers, but I also love funky shoes and bright colors and slightly quirky styles. Maybe I should be working in the office for some creative field, marketing or something. I don’t think I want to design for my day job, I think I’d get overwhelmed! Of course, I still have clients for whom I need to look professional, but I think I can do that without getting stuck in the “corporate” look of matchy-matchy dark suits, prim heels, petite pieces of jewelry and perfectly coiffed hair.

A friend and I went to the GW University Textile Museum over the weekend and saw the “Inspiring Beauty: 50 Years of Ebony Fashion Fair” exhibit. The Ebony Fashion Fair was touring fashion show for the African-American community, masterminded by Mrs. Eunice W. Johnson (of the Johnson Publishing Company), and full of haute couture pieces Mrs. Johnson chose to dazzle and delight her audiences. The clothing was amazing, but the fashion fair program covers were just amazing – some of the pieces my friend and I kept incorrectly placing the wrong decades! It was a good reminder of how fashion is not just frivolous, that it has the power to inspire and engage and delight, and allows us to reflect on who we are and where we’ve come from. I don’t presume to think that my sewing has anything nearly as serious as the impact Mrs. Johnson and the Fashion Fair shows had on their audiences, but I can say with confidence that it’s not silly, vain, shallow, or insincere, as some would have you think. We all make statements about ourselves in how we present ourselves to others. And my statement is that I am creative and not a round peg for a round hole. My peg is probably somewhat star shaped, or maybe floral shaped! And I wouldn’t have it any other way. So good-bye corporate clothing and hello, guilt-free personal expression!

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Pink Hair Don’t Care: Giving Up Corporate

Leave a Reply

