Happy July! Hard to believe that 2017 is halfway over, isn’t it? I haven’t gotten anywhere near the amount of sewing done that I’d hoped for this year. My plans for some June sewing while staycationing sort of flew out the window too, due to some last minute, quite spontaneous outings with The Mechanic. Even though I’m sad at the loss of my sewing time, spending time with The Mechanic is never a bad thing. : )

Staycation Day 1 – Part of the beginning of my staycation was dedicated to my volunteer work for my association, but then The Mechanic and I had a dinner date. Walking home from where the Lyft driver dropped us off (because I still haven’t figured out how to update my home location and didn’t pay attention when scheduling the ride…), we saw the teeny-ist, tiny-ist wild rabbit. Of course I had to stop and take pictures of it. Probably a teen bunny, it was smaller than Gaston, and totally unafraid of us. It was adorable to watch it groom, but such an unafraid bunny might not last long in the Arlington wilds. Still, I loved watching it.

Okay, maybe I was stalking it…

Staycation Day 2 – we biked to brunch at our favorite spot, Silver Diner. We love Silver Diner because it has such a range of vegetarian and vegan meal options. Even in the Washington, DC, metro region, it’s hard to find restaurants with decent veggie options. When a previously scheduled conference call was cancelled at somewhat the last minute, The Mechanic and I hopped Metro to the National Mall. Although our destination was the National Museum of the American Indian, we wandered through the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, taking place alone the Mall. I am not a huge fan of circuses, but it was fun to see all the circus exhibits set up – we missed most of the performances, however. After exploring the NMAI, we wandered along the Mall until we stumbled upon a lucky find – the Smithsonian Arts and Industries Building was being used for the FolkLife Festival Marketplace! This building is normally closed to the public, due to renovations, but it’s my favorite building on the Mall, and of course I jumped at the chance to go in.

The Arts and Industries Building, opened in 1881. It was reopened as a special events location in 2015, after being closed for 12 years.

Through the marketing place and circus school, you could see signs of renovation work, and a series of photos near the restrooms showed what it had once looked like.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Staycation Day 3 – This day was completely and 100% spontaneous. A friend of The Mechanic’s texted to see if we wanted to go sailing with him on his father-in-law’s 54′ sail boat. Um, yes!!! (Of course, that did require an emergency run to Target – I don’t (didn’t) own shorts, and figured that they would be more practical on a boat than a skirt – and since I didn’t have time or fabric to make a pair, well, fast fashion it was.) I love sailing, I love the ocean, I love the Chesapeake Bay, and harbors and, well, nautical style, despite my dislike for sun damage. Armed in a rash guard from Lands’ End, a wide-brimmed hat and lots of mineral sunscreen, I enjoyed a quite leisurely sail with three other people into St. Michael’s, MD.

Who needs to know anything about sailing when the hi tech boat does almost all of it on its own?!?

I love the choppy water, too, so I was happy as a clam when we sailed back into the wind. I find it very peaceful, somehow.

Staycation Day 4 – Deciding to invite friends over meant a morning of mad cleaning, but the reward was a spotless apartment when our friends arrived. And an leisurely evening of reading after they left.

Staycation Day 5 – With all the housecleaning done, I had time to sew, but alas, ran into many complications and had to stop. I made a muslin of Butterick 5602 (Version C) and since I didn’t have a long enough zipper, I had The Mechanic help me pin it. Then I realized that the denim lace fabric will need something sheer-ish for a hem faching, to preserve the sheerness. Then I realized that my white interfacing will show, then that fusible (woven) interfacing will be gross and tacky (probably literally), so I need to find something else. And that although I ordered an invisible zipper, the way the lining is constructed isn’t very invisible zipper friendly, and I’ll have to either rethink how to put in the lining, or use a regular zipper. Bah. So – basically I can’t finish my denim lace dress any time soon.

Another muslin from my old bed sheet!

Disappointing to end five days off without a new finished garment, but look at all the fun we had!

It’s now a new fiscal year in my office, and the beginning of the second half of the year. Somehow it seems like New Years all over again. I’m glad I had some time to staycation, because the rest of this summer doesn’t seem to be slowing down! I think every weekend is booked until September. So much for spontaneous!

Mermaids are spontaneous, right? LOL

Save

Leave a Reply

