Welcome to the unofficial start of Autumn! Hope you enjoyed the Labor Day weekend!

September started off with a preview of what’s to come this fall – cooler temperatures, rainy weather and pumpkin flavors. It’s not fall without some crazy pumpkin flavored foods, is it?!

I do love pumpkin spice things, similarly to the way I love chai tea, so I do look forward to pumpkin beers and fall flavored things. Yes, unless the pumpkin!

Unleash the Pumpkin!

But I do draw the line somewhere – I’m just not sure about pumpkin spice pudding, and this atomic pumpkin spice beer might be a spice too far for me. I’m not the only one to think this trend has gone on for too long, but I know I won’t bail to the maple-flavored everything trend. Not a huge fan of maple.

I was pretty excited to find Dole Whip at our local Nando’s Peri-Peri, however. I just love this light pineapple-flavored soft serve. I’ve only had it before at Disney World or Disneyland, so it brings back memories of those trips. While this past weekend was Labor Day, it was also The Mechanic’s birthday weekend. He has been sick but we still managed a small celebration. I brought home vegan cookies from Bakeshop VA, a local bakery, not because we are vegan, but because the bakery sells several different kinds of vegan cookies and I was curious. Our highly scientific experiment proved that they are just as tasty as non-vegan cookies. And for his birthday dinner, we both opted for Belgian beers. No crazy pumpkin beers for us! (Yet.)

An unintentional ironic pairing, for anyone who knows their French history….

But before you begin to wonder if I’ve suddenly become a food blogger, not to worry! Sewing did in fact happen this weekend as well.

I made a skirt out of the IKEA fabric I recently purchased and wore it out the same day, to dinner with The Mechanic. It was cool and rainy so I sadly accessorized with boots and a blazer. (When you walk places instead of drive, proper footwear is key.) Although I didn’t quite get the box pleats right, and it only has a token reflective ribbon loop on the waistband, I really love the skirt. I think this will be a great all-season option.

I had hoped to get my Liberty of London Stars blouse completed this weekend as well, but I seem to be battling The Mechanic’s cold (nooooooooo!) and my brain was not thinking right. What I got done took probably twice as long as it normally would. I just need to finish it this month, because it looks like our schedules are going to get busy, despite our best efforts to the contrary. September is National Sewing Month (huzzah!) and I am participating in Sew Photo Hop again. It’s an Instagram challenge with a daily topic. I’m not sure how it will go but keep an eye on my Instagram account to follow along. I really enjoy this more to see what everyone else posts, rather than sharing my sewing. I redid my mood board over the weekend as well, and as The Mechanic said, “it’s so dark!” I’m not sure why I’m so drawn to dark florals and celestial prints when I normally prefer rich fall colors for cold weather. Time for a change, I guess. And isn’t that what a new season is all about?

Leave a Reply

