I’ve been hunting for new and inspiring sewing labels for a while and just not finding anything I loved. Then, about a month ago, I read a review of Nominette labels by British blogger Manju, in her sewing blog Sewmanju (amazing alert – she just made a LEATHER jacket!). The Nominette labels she had created are gorgeous, so chic and haute couture0looking! Nominette is a Belgian company, so I emailed to see if they ship to the United States. And they do! For only 4 Euros! Sold!

I spent some time playing around on their website – they have a “label builder” tool that allows you to put in your text and preview what the label would more or less look like. Although I love the image that Manju (and her sister) designed for her labels, I didn’t have any ideas of what the graphic would/could be, and I didn’t want a bicycle. So I ended up sticking with text only. But I had enough space for several lines, and added some text and my Twitter handle too.  The minimum order is 100 labels, and the price ended up being around $50, so about 50 cents per label. I can’t imagine *ever* going through 100 labels, but at least I will never be short!

The labels arrived unexpectedly and pretty quickly after I placed the order. I’m so excited by them! Labels 4I specifically was looking for labels that would fold in half, but didn’t really except to find an option where I could get a woven design with text on front and back. They look really professional, and are pretty much what I wanted. Labels 3The labels arrived the day I was about to mail off a blouse l made for a friend in Oregon, so I quickly unpicked the seam facing and tucked one of these new labels into her blouse. Not only will she be the first on the West Coast to get a Tin Lizzie reflective garment, she has the first Tin Lizzie label!

I made McCalls 6794 for my friend, who also works in TDM and does bicycle/pedestrian advocacy work. I made this pattern for myself this spring, but haven’t worn it much because I’m disappointed in how the orange reflective fabric is peeling, and I haven’t decided how to fix it. But this one is adorable and I love the bright reflective fabric with the pale gray, yellow and aqua print. I was sad to mail it away – I want it myself!

I’m eager to get my sewing done so I can start putting these new labels in everything! I’ve got quite a line-up of projects, so I just need some dedicated time….

I will also be reading my new book – the more I sew, the more particular I am getting about fit, so it’s time to brush up on rusty skills! It’s been, um, two decades since I took my pattern fit classes, and at least 15 years since I’ve tried to do proper pattern adjustments. Excited and scared!* Perfect Fitting Book*bragging rights if anyone can name the Broadway musical-made-movie that line comes from!

8 thoughts on “My Own Personalized Sewing Labels!

  1. Hello so pleased you got these labels and that you like them. I did email them to find out if they shipped to the USA but didn’t get a reply…but now I know the answer! Your labels look very professional and that’s a great idea to add your Twitter handle.

Leave a Reply

